Skip to content

The most delicious Lemon Drizzle Cake 💛🍋

January 17, 2016

I love lemons! They have got to be one of the fruits I use most in my cooking and day to day life. I squeeze lemon juice in my tea, over savoury dishes, on salads, even on my hair for that extra sparkle after shampooing.

So when my very good friend Keran, who is also a super duper baker, said she had a super easy recipe for an extra citrusy Lemon Drizzle Cake, I just had to try it.

I love easy to make cake recipes that can be whipped up in no time, with ingredients you already have in the house. This recipe is just that, basic ingredients with yummy results in no time. Your home will smell buttery and citrusy all over.



Ingredients –

For the cake –

  • 225grams Caster sugar
  • 225grams butter
  • 225grams self raising flour
  • 4 large free range eggs
  • Grated rind of two unwaxed lemons

For the drizzle –

  • Juice of two lemons
  • 90grams caster sugar

Method –

  • First make the cake. Mix the butter and sugar until it is light and fluffy. Add the eggs and mix until incorporated. Then mix in the flour. Add the lemon rind.
  • Pour the cake mix into a round cake tin or loaf tin.
  • Bake at 180 degrees celsius for 35minutes or until cooked through.
  • In the meantime dissolve the 90grams of sugar in the juice of the two lemons until it forms a syrupy liquid.
  • Once the cake is out of the oven using a fork make holes all over the cake.
  • Slowly pour over the drizzle liquid and leave to rest. The lemony drizzle will be sponged up by the hot cake in no time.

You will be left with a super moist citrusy Lemon Drizzle Cake your friends and family will just adore. My elder son is a lemon cake connoisseur, and he absolutely loved this one! 

  

Lemony heaven!
 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment