Skip to content

Why the Dutch are different : a hidden journey into the heart of the Netherlands by Ben Coates πŸ“š a book review

May 8, 2017

I am writing to you from beautiful Berlin where Im on a weekend trip with my lovely mother. Berlin weekend is coming to my blog soon.

In the meantime I wanted to tell you about a great book I recommend you read if you ever visit the Netherlands. I actually read this book after my visit to Amsterdam last year, and wish I had read it before.

The Book –


In the first book to consider the hidden history of the Netherlands from a modern perspective, author Ben Coates explores the length and breadth of his adopted homeland and discovers why one of the world’s smallest countries is so fascinating and significant. 

It is a self-made country, the Dutch national character shaped by the ongoing battle to keep the water out, its love of dairy and beer, its attitude towards nature, and its famous tolerance.

Verdict –

So much fun and I learnt so much! I absolutely loved Amsterdam and to learn about the Dutch made everything even more interesting.

I think when visiting a country one needs to find out about it’s history, food, culture and it’s people. A definate winner!

Why the Dutch are Different is available in bookstores and on Amazon.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

