Skip to content

How I would spend 24hours in one of my favourite cities…Paris ❤️

January 3, 2017

As you all know by now I am a self proclaimed francophile! I love all things Parisian and try to visit at every given opportunity. So when I saw an assignment by Accor Hotels to describe how you would spend 24hours in your favourite city I couldn’t resist! So here it is…

My 24hours in Paris


I would start my day in Paris by enjoying a typically Parisian breakfast at my favourite cafe La Belle Ferronniere at 53 Rue Pierre Charron, very near the Champs Elysees. I’d sit on an intimate table outside and enjoy a typically French breakfast – fresh croissants and tartines (fresh baguettes with butter & jam), and a milky ‘cafe creme’.

Paris is a city you enjoy most on foot, so I would start my day walking down the famous Champs Elysees. Best to visit in the morning before the crowds of tourists arrive. I’d head to the nearest Metro stop and ride the Parisian metro system as locals do. Getting off at the St Michel Notre Dame, right next to the beautiful Notre Dame Cathedral. 

My first stop would be the prettiest book shop in Paris – Shakespeare & Company – located on Paris’ Left Bank. I love it because it has been the setting for several of my favourite movies – Woody Allen’s ‘Midnight in Paris’ and ‘Before Sunset’ starring Ethan Hawke. I’d wonder around the quirky bookshop and reminise. 

I would then take a stroll along Le Seine admiring the architecture and beauty of Paris. I would catch a boat trip and take a one hour ride up and down the river which would tell me a lot about the well known monuments along the way. Views of the Eiffel Tower from the river will be fabulous.

After my boat tour I’d wander around the pretty back streets of Saint Germain, stopping off for lunch at the infamous ‘Cafe Flore’.  The Café de Flore is one of the oldest coffeehouses in Paris. Located at the corner of Boulevard Saint-Germain and Rue Saint-Benoît, it is celebrated for its famous clientele such as Pablo Picasso. I’d dine on a typically French bowl of onion soup and fresh crusty baguette, accompanied by a glass of Vin rouge. 

After lunch I’d continue on to the Eiffel Tower. I would have bought my tickets in advance so as to avoid the long queues and I would love looking over beautiful Paris from high above it’s lovely rooftops.

I would then cross the bridge to the South Bank and walk towards Le Trocodero. From there I’d take the nearest metro and head towards The Opera Garnier.

The Palais Garnier is a 1,979-seat opera house, which was built from 1861 to 1875 for the Paris Opera. I would take a self guided tour around the opulent interiors of the Opera house, which was also the inspiration for the Phantom of the Opera.

I would then walk back towards the Champs Elysees, stopping off at ‘Angelina’ on the Rue de Rivoli. In 1903 the confectioner Antoine Rumpelmayer founded Angelina. It became the place to be seen among the Parisian aristocracy. Proust and Coco Chanel rubbed shoulders with the biggest names in fashion under this very roof. You will find a very long line in front for people waiting to get a table inside. However if like me you are not very patient, I suggest popping into the take away pastry section and getting a small take away cup of the best hot chocolate ever!

After the warming cup of chocolate I’d wander through the Tuileries Garden – a public garden located between the Louvre Museum and the Place de la Concorde in the 1st arrondissement of Paris. I’d sit on a bench and watch Parisians go by.

At the end of this busy day I’d head to my favourite restaurant in Paris – Chez Andre – the perfect French brasserie. 

Just steps away from Place de l’Etoile and the most beautiful avenue in the world, Chez André, in the heart of what’s known as the “Golden Triangle”, is where business, luxury, fashion and the press all meet. It was opened in 1936 and has kept the same feel it had back then. The zinc bar and the bistro tables bring to mind the 1930s. The food and ambience is just perfect!


From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Michael Wilson permalink

    Very nice one 🙌👏❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

