Skip to content

The Dandelion Years by Erica James πŸ“š a book review

January 2, 2017

I am writing to you from my second home in Antalya, after a wonderful Christmas break with my lovely family.

I was looking for a fun book to take on my trip so I popped along to my wonderful local library and found this beautiful book.

The Book –


‘Someone had made a perfect job of creating a place in which to hide a notebook … there was no address, only a date: September 1943 . . .’

Ashcombe was the most beautiful house Saskia had ever seen as a little girl. A rambling cottage on the edge of a Suffolk village, it provided a perfect sanctuary to hide from the tragedy which shattered her childhood.

Now an adult, Saskia is still living at Ashcombe and as a book restorer devotes her days tending to broken and battered books, daydreaming about the people who had once turned their pages. When she discovers a hidden notebook – and realises someone has gone to a great deal of trouble to hide a story of their own – Saskia finds herself drawn into a heart-rending tale of wartime love.

Verdict –

I have read several books by Erica James and they have never disappointed me.

The last one I read was Summer at the Lake which transported me to the shores of beautiful Lake Como. 

The Dandelion Years captivated me in the same magical way. 

When Saskia was a little girl, her mother and both grandma’s were killed in a car accident. To help them through the grief, her father, Ralph and both Gradfather’s Harvey and Oliver decided to live together, at Ashcombe in Suffolk. Saskia works as a historic book restorer and one day comes across an old notebook entitled ‘The Dandelion Years’ – telling the story of a love set in World War 2.

I can’t give too much more away but all I can say is that this is a lovely book I’m sure you will all enjoy.

You can buy The Dandelion Years in all major bookshops or why not visit your local library. 

Happy New Year! xxx

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

