Skip to content

How I would spend 24hours in my hometown ❤️🇬🇧 London!

December 5, 2016

I live in London and love it. So when I saw an assignment by Accor Hotels to describe how you would spend 24hours in your favourite city I couldn’t resist! So here it is…

My 24hours in London

I would start my day in London by enjoying a tranquil breakfast at one of my favourite cafes set in beautiful St.James Park – Inn the Park. I’d sit on a table outside whatever the weather and enjoy a hearty breakfast of eggs, toast and freshly squeezed juice, and of course a frothy cappuccino. Inn the Park serve the most delicious jams with their breakfasts made by Peyton & Byrne. I’d watch joggers enjoying some exercise and people going about their business in the breathtaking setting of the ponds of plants of this central London park.


After breakfast I’d take a stroll through the winding paths of the park, heading towards Buckingham Palace, then walking back to Wellington Barracks. Feeding the ducks and swans along the way.

At 11am I’d watch the Changing of the Guard  at the barracks, the soldiers dressed in their sparkling regimental uniforms playing their instruments would make me feel very proud.

At midday I would head towards Green Park, another wonderful vast park set in the city centre. I’d walk up towards Piccadilly and head to one of my favourite stores in London – Fortnum & Mason. Always busy and quite rightly so. Entering F&M is like taking a step back in time. Especially at Christmas time the windows are spectacular and inside the festive treat are just scrumptious. I wouldn’t leave without buying a box of my favourite blend of tea – Fortnum & Mason Royal Blend.


I would continue down Piccadilly popping in to London’s largest bookstore Waterstones to browse through the latest best sellers. I would then grab a sandwich & drink from the nearest Pret a Manger to enjoy on a bench in Berkeley Square –  a pretty park hidden between the tall town houses behind Piccadilly and Green Park. The square dates back to the 18th Century and the town houses surrounding it were once home to many famous names such as Sir Winston Churchill and Harry Selfridge.

After lunch I’d walk up New Bond Street looking into the shop windows of many famous brand names, and towards Regents Street taking a peek into Hamleys toy shop to buy my boys something small. 

I’d walk towards Selfridges on Oxford Street and head to the Wallace Collection – a hidden gem in central London. Located just behind Marylebone High Street, the Wallace Collection. The Wallace Collection is a national museum in an historic London town house. In 25 galleries are unsurpassed displays of French 18th-century painting, furniture and porcelain with superb Old Master paintings and a world class armoury. And the best thing is it’s absolutely free!


I would enjoy dinner at one of the best restaurants in London – Rowleys. A St James’ institution, famed for a range of delicious steak and grill dishes upon which it has built a nearly 40-year reputation as one of the capital’s finest steak restaurants. 

Located just behind Piccadilly circus, the restaurant is housed in the very building where the famous Walls meat business began. In 1790, Richard Walls was apprenticed to a pork butcher in St James’s Market. By 1807 the young man had learned his trade and taken over from his master. From 1812 to 1901, the business claimed a long succession of Royal Appointments – from King George IV to King Edward VII. During this time, Richard’s grandsons, Thomas and Frederick, took over the running of the business. The history of Rowley’s is evident in the beautifully preserved interiors and it remains a well-respected British Institution to this day.

I would end my day strolling down Regents street watching the sparkling Christmas lights. 

Then I would head to one of London’s oldest and most luxurious hotel’s – The Goring, to enjoy a cocktail by the fireplace before heading off to bed. 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

