Skip to content

The Girl on the Train 🎬 a movie review 

October 10, 2016

I don’t know whether I like movie adaptations of books or not. If there is a book I really enjoy and I find out it’s going to be brought to life on the big screen, I do get excited! But there is always a bad adaptation and in those instances it can been pretty heartbreaking.

The Movie –


Adapted from Paula Hawkins best selling novel of the same title.

Rachel Watson, an alcoholic who divorced her husband Tom after she caught him cheating on her, takes the train to work daily. She fantasizes about the relationship of her neighbours, Scott and Megan Hipwell, during her commute. 

That all changes when she witnesses something from the train window and Megan is missing, presumed dead.

Verdict-

I had read the book a long time before the movie came out, and luckily I haven’t got the best memory and the complete plot had escaped me. 

For those of you who haven’t read the book or like me had forgotten the plot, the story is filled with twists and turns.

The two hour long movie is definitely entertaining but I think without the masterful acting skills of Emily Blunt the plot itself would not have been enough. 

A movie I enjoyed with my lovely friends one afternoon at the cinema but not a movie I would put up there with the likes of Gone Girl or other adaptations I have enjoyed in the past.

I definitely think the book version was better.

The Girl on the Train is showing at all cinemas nationwide.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Lesley Spearing permalink

    Many thanks for a helpful review. I will wait until the movie is shown on Sky/comes to DVD!

Leave a Reply

