Skip to content

The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk 📚 a book review 

September 5, 2016

I am back home. We had a fantastic summer in Antalya with my lovely family but it is now time to get back to reality.

It is nice to be home. We flew back via Istanbul, and I came across this book in the airport in Istanbul. I was actually looking for a book about this wonderful city which holds a very special place in my heart, and I came across this novel by the renowned Nobel prize winner Orhan Pamuk.

I have not always been a huge fan of Pamuk’s work. Many many years ago I attempted to read My Name is Red, but could not get past the first few pages as I just didn’t get it.

But I never give up, and The Museum of Innocence was a book I knew had great reviews.

The Book –


The below description of the book is from goodreads –

“It was the happiest moment of my life, though I didn’t know it.” So begins the new novel, his first since winning the Nobel Prize, from the universally acclaimed author of Snow and My Name Is Red. 

It is 1975, a perfect spring in Istanbul. Kemal, scion of one of the city’s wealthiest families, is about to become engaged to Sibel, daughter of another prominent family, when he encounters Füsun, a beautiful shopgirl and a distant relation. 

Once the long-lost cousins violate the code of virginity, a rift begins to open between Kemal and the world of the Westernized Istanbul bourgeosie—a world, as he lovingly describes it, with opulent parties and clubs, society gossip, restaurant rituals, picnics, and mansions on the Bosphorus, infused with the melancholy of decay—until finally he breaks off his engagement to Sibel. But his resolve comes too late. 

For eight years Kemal will find excuses to visit another Istanbul, that of the impoverished backstreets where Füsun, her heart now hardened, lives with her parents, and where Kemal discovers the consolations of middle-class life at a dinner table in front of the television. His obsessive love will also take him to the demimonde of Istanbul film circles (where he promises to make Füsun a star), a scene of seedy bars, run-down cheap hotels, and small men with big dreams doomed to bitter failure. In his feckless pursuit, Kemal becomes a compulsive collector of objects that chronicle his lovelorn progress and his afflicted heart’s reactions: anger and impatience, remorse and humiliation, deluded hopes of recovery, and daydreams that transform Istanbul into a cityscape of signs and specters of his beloved, from whom now he can extract only meaningful glances and stolen kisses in cars, movie houses, and shadowy corners of parks. 

A last change to realize his dream will come to an awful end before Kemal discovers that all he finally can possess, certainly and eternally, is the museum he has created of his collection, this map of a society’s manners and mores, and of one man’s broken heart.

A stirring exploration of the nature of romantic attachment and of the mysterious allure of collecting, The Museum of Innocence also plumbs the depths of an Istanbul half Western and half traditional—its emergent modernity, its vast cultural history. 

Verdict –

I must say I utterly and absolutely enjoyed this book.

I started reading it at the airport in Istanbul where I purchased it, and I finished it late last night in the comforts of my home in London. It was so easy to read, the words of Orhan Pamuk just flowed so easily I could not put it down, I had to find out what happened next.

Kemal and Fusun experience feelings of love set in the confusion and amazement that is Istanbul. 

I am going to give My Name is Red another go after enjoying this novel so much. I think Orhan Pamuk’s books require the reader to have that extra little bit of experience. For the reader to have lived a little. 

I also plan to visit the real museum set up by the author named after the book. The museum was picked the best museum in Europe in 2014. Link below –

http://tr.masumiyetmuzesi.org
You can read The Museum of Innocence translated into English now. Available in all major bookshops & on Amazon.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

