Skip to content

The BFG ❀️ a book review & competition! πŸ“šπŸŒŸ

July 18, 2016

Anyone who knows me and has read my blog will know just how much I love anything Roald Dahl. Ever since reading my first Roald Dahl story at the age of 7, I have been a loyal fan of the wonderful Mr. Dahl.

What was the first book I read by Roald Dahl you may be wondering? It was ‘The BFG’ – The Big Friendly Giant. A story I remember reading for the very first time in amazement and with the same excitement one feels on Christmas morning in anticipation of what presents Santa has left under the tree.

So when I heard a film adaptation of the book was coming out I was so excited!

I enjoy nothing more than watching my boys read the books I read as a child. My older son who is 8 has read The BFG before, but this time round he read it to his 5 year old brother.

The Book –


NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE BY STEVEN SPIELBERG, starring Oscar-winning actor Mark Rylance as THE BFG!

On a dark, silvery moonlit night, Sophie is snatched from her bed by a giant.

Luckily it is the Big Friendly Giant, the BFG, who only eats snozzcumbers and glugs frobscottle.

But there are other giants in Giant Country: fifty foot brutes who gallop far and wide every night to find human beans to eat.

Sophie decides she must stop them once and for all. And the BFG is going to help her!

With a new foreword by Lucy Dahl and exclusive fun activities inside, including: BFG Draw-along with Quentin Blake, BFG Quiz and much more!

Listen to THE BFG and other Roald Dahl audiobooks read by some very famous voices, including Kate Winslet, David Walliams and Steven Fry – plus there are added squelchy sound effects from Pinewood Studios!

And get your little ones design their very own β€˜dream in a jar’! Here is the one my boys designed, as you can see my boys are football fans –


Verdict –

The BFG will always be the same BFG, but this wonderful publication by Penguin books has that extra bit of magic, some wonderful activities your kids will love and some great illustrations by the great Quentin Blake.

The movie is due to be released in the UK this Friday 22nd July. Buy the book first and let your little ones experience the wonder of Roald Dahl’s magical words, then let them watch those words come to life on the big screen!

I am seeing the movie soon and will let you all know what I think, in the meantime enjoy this wonderful edition of The Big Friendly Giant.

My boys cannot wait to see the movie and see what the BFG’s home in β€˜real life’!

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟COMPETITION 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

WIN A COPY OF THE BFG BOOK! SIMPLY EMAIL ME AT THE ADDRESS BELOW WITH YOUR NAME & ADDRESS DETAILS! ONLY OPEN TO UK RESIDENTS. ENDS 1st AUGUST 2016 AT MIDNIGHT. GOOD LUCK xxxx

In the meantime read more at the link below and order your special copy now –

https://www.penguin.co.uk/puffin/books/58700/the-bfg/#6JYZSskqLMwHErZg.99

Enjoy more Roald Dahl fun below –

http://roalddahl.com/party

Watch the super cool trailer below –

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1-x-OCV0no

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

