Skip to content

I’m removing tap water from my skincare routine 💧💦

April 10, 2016

Today I’d like to share with you my main skincare resolution for this year, and after 5 months of sticking to it my skin has never felt or looked better!

 

Me! Absolutely no make up ❤️

I

forgot to add one essential resolution to my list at the beginning of the year.

I will try not to use tap water on my face. Yes you heard right, no more tap water on my face. Impossible I hear you say! Well not really.

I read in an article recently that one of the secrets behind the glowing skin of French women is that they never wash their faces in water. Then last week whilst in Antalya, I noticed that my mother never washes her face in tap water either! She has amazing skin.

The secret is not to get too obsessed but just try to minimise the amount of water that touches the skin on your face. This doesn’t mean you have to keep your face dry whilst having a shower, now that would be impossible. But just try not to use tap water as part of your cleansing routine.

I have always found that using tap water to cleanse my face be it with a foaming face wash or an exfoliator that is rinsed off with water, leaves my face feeling stretched and dry.

So my new cleansing routine without using water is as follows –

  1. Milky cream cleanser – Warmed in the palms, smooth all over the face and neck. Remove any excess residue with a clean tissue.
  2. Toner – a little squirt of toner on a cotton wool pad. Swipe all over your face and neck to remove any last remains of cleanser.
  3. A spritz of Thermal Spring Water in a spray bottle. This step is essential to remove all traces of cleanser, purify the skin and also calm the skin in the natural possible way. Pat skin dry with a clean tissue.
  4. Finally moisturise your face and neck with your favourite moisturiser.
  5. Use a suitable eye cream or gel on the delicate area around your eyes.

As far as what products to use, I believe that is completely dependant on the type of skin you have. I review the latest skincare products on a regular basis on my blog. One of my favourite pastimes is to find the latest products, try them and write about them all. Here is a list of what I am using now on a daily basis. All the products I use are plant based.

My daily skincare products. I have been a loyal Clarins customer since I was 14 years old. I have had breaks, tried other products, but always keep returning. It’s like a staple for me now.

Cleanser – Clarins Cleansing Milk for combination or oily skin

Toner – Clarins Toning Lotion (alcohol free) for combination or oily skin

Thermal Spring Water – Eau Thermale Avene

Daytime moisturiser – Clarins Multi-Active Day Early Wrinkle Correcting Lotion SPF 15

Nighttime Moisturiser – Clarins Multi-Active Night Youth Recovery Cream

Eye cream – Clarins Extra Firming Eye Wrinkle Smoothing Cream

Try cutting out water on your face for a while, one little change has done wonders for my skin. 💙💙💙💦💦💦

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

