Skip to content

Dior and I ❤️ an unmissable glimpse into the wonderful world of fashion…

March 7, 2016

I adore fashion. I am a full time mummy now, but just getting a fashion magazine, flicking through the beautiful images of the latest trends, styles and accessories just gives me pure pleasure. Even the gorgeous advertisements which adorn the pages of say Vogue or Harpers Bazaar transport me to another world.

I have always wondered how much more goes into creating and running a fashion house. When I worked in Public Relations I was lucky enough to visit some of the great fashion houses in Paris as part of a press group I was taking around, and it is just amazing to see how these great brand names are run and function. When I was a model for a brief time I also was lucky enough to be part of a few runway shows and saw on hand how exhausting and how much work goes into it all.

I also love watching movies related to fashion as you all know. The latest movie I watched just last week was set around the great fashion house of Christian Dior. Today’s review is about this unmissable masterpiece.

The Movie –

 

Dior and I brings the viewer inside the storied world of the Christian Dior fashion house with a privileged, behind-the-scenes look at the creation of Raf Simons’ first haute couture collection as its new artistic director—a true labor of love created by a dedicated group of collaborators. 

Melding the everyday, pressure- filled components of fashion with mysterious echoes from the iconic brand’s past, the film is also a colorful homage to the seamstresses who serve Simons’ vision.

My Verdict –

I could not take my eyes off the screen from the very start. Raf Simons is an extremely modest, gentile designer, but under his quiet exterior lies a pure genius.

Raf Simons at Dior

Watching him transform the very classical designs of Christian Dior is a beauty to behold. Taking fabrics adorned with classical prints of flowers, and changing them into more modern fabrics inspired by Raf’s favourite designers is just inspiring.

 

Raf’s creations at Dior

 
The finale is Raf’s first Haute Couture showing at Christian Dior. We are taken through every step of the way leading to the huge display of his creativity. It does not disappoint, from the amazing rooms in Paris filled with flowers where the show is held, to the numerous celebrities and fashion greats who come to see what Raf has produced.

 

Raf’s creations at Dior

 
For anyone even remotely interested in the world of fashion, this movie is a definite must.

Find out more and watch the trailer below –

http://www.diorandimovie.com
 

From → Movies, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

