Skip to content

My Life in France by Julia Child πŸ“š a book review

January 4, 2016

One of my new years resolutions was to read more non fiction books this year. By non fiction I mean biographies, historical novels, factual stories.

You all know my love for France and my love for cooking, so what better book to review as the first of 2016 than ‘My Life in France’ by one of my favourite all time chefs Julia Child.

Over the holidays I watched one of my favourite movies Julie & Julia starring Meryll Streep in the role of Julia Child. I’ve seen this movie several times but cannot get enough of it. So after seeing this movie I knew Julia Childs life story written by herself, had to be my first book to review this year.

  

The Story –

Julia Child was born in California and worked for American intelligence during World War II; afterwards she lived in Paris, studied at the Cordon Bleu and taught cooking with Simone Beck and Louisette Bertholle, with whom she wrote the first volume of THE bestselling classic Mastering the Art of French Cooking (1961). She died in 2004. 

This book is her biography and it tells us about her life in her beloved France.

Verdict –

What an absolutely amazing memoir from a woman I would have loved to have met! 

This wonderful book not only covers her life in France but also her time spent in Germany, Norway and the United States. We also get a glimse at her marriage and the amazing relationship she had with her husband.

Julia Child

Julia was a larger than life character, so reading her memories were so much fun. Written with the help of her nephew Alex this book will inspire you to get cooking and visit France as soon as possible. 

My Life in France is available on amazon and in all major bookstores.

Bon appΓ©tit! xxxx

5 Comments
  1. Eren permalink

    Cool! Keep up the great work!

  2. I love that you’re keeping up with your goals! Love these reviews β€οΈπŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

