Skip to content

My close encounter with Emily Dickinson 📚❤️

November 29, 2015

I have been wanting to write about one of my all time favourite author’s to you all ever since I started my blog. One thing led to another and the opportunity was pushed aside, afterall Emily is not a fad or current trend for me, she has been special for a while now.

 

Emily Dickinson

 
I had always known about Emily whilst I was studying literature at school, but it was during my time studying in a small town outside Boston, called Amherst, that I came to learn so much more about her internationally renowned poetry and her very interesting life.

A superbly talented poet born and bred in Amherst Massachusetts. Born Emily Elizabeth Dickinson on December 10th 1830, she was considered an eccentric by locals and became known for her reluctance to greet guests or to even leave her bedroom. Emily Dickinson never married, and most friendships between her and others depended entirely upon correspondence. It was after her death that her gift for writing poetry was recognised and her poems published.

I’ve always felt a closeness to Emily, she was a great poet but also so real. She loved to bake, loved gardening and loved nature, loved to write and adored her family.

Dickinson Homestead in Amherst MA

I would like to share with you my encounter with Emily Dickinson. It was while I was studying in Amherst around ten years ago. 

My darling brother was visiting and we decided to take a tour of the beautiful Dickinson Homestead where Emily spend her whole life, wrote her poetry and died. The house she shared with her family is the most beautiful home anyone could wish for, with a huge garden and set in a picture perfect New England town. On touring the home we also got to see Emily’s room, which is exactly as it was when she was alive. As I entered her room I felt warm all over, so warm infact I had trouble breathing and had to leave the tour there and then. 

Emily’s room & desk where she wrote her poetry

I don’t really believe in ghosts, but I am definitely sure Emily’s spirit is still there in her house. 

If you are interested in finding out more about the late and great poet I would definitely recommend a visit to Amherst, and reading these lovely books about her interesting life which was the base for her poetry.

  • The Lonely House by Paul Brody
  • Lives Like Loaded Guns by Lyndall Gordon
  • Miss Emily by Nuala O’Connor

I’d like to leave you with one of my favourite poems by Emily Dickinson-

 

Find out more about Emily here –

https://www.emilydickinsonmuseum.org/homestead 

4 Comments
  1. Doug Kay permalink

    Thanks for the interesting facts about Ms. Emily . Never knew any of that about her.
    A productive life but a sad one at the same time .My sister lives in that area so I will make it a point to see Emily’s house . Thanks .

    • Thank you! Amherst is so beautiful your sister lives in a lovely area of New England. Please visit & let me know what you think xxx

  2. Gorgeous blog post and I know what you mean, I was so moved in Emily’s room. Thanks for mentioning Miss Emily! There’s a giveaway of the book over on my blog.

    • Thank you so much! I absolutely loved Miss Emily, your words took me back to beautiful Amherst and taught me so much more about the lovely Emily ❤️😘

Leave a Reply

