Skip to content

Homemade Tiramisu ❤️ the perfect pick me up! 

November 20, 2015

I have an extremely sweet tooth, but as you all know I am trying very hard to stick to natural fruit sugars these days but just eating fruits when I get that craving.

My boys however, darling husband included, do deserve a nice homemade treat at the weekends and they always look forward to the ‘suprise dessert’ at the end of our meal. I love baking and am a very confident baker, if I say so myself, but traditional ‘desserts’ I’m not too good at.

As the winter months loom I want to make bread puddings, apple pies, rhubarb crumbles with freshly made custard. But I thought I’d start with something a bit less complicated, at least something that doesn’t require any cooking. 

  

Tiramisu has always been a firm family favourite. Coffee, cream, mascarpone, cocoa powder, what more could anyone want from a dessert! Those ingredients are heaven on a plate.

So today I fought back my inhibitions and decided to make homemade Tiramisu! I searched the Internet for the simplest recipe and found this one which is so easy peasy anyone could do it, and whats more no baking whatsoever required! Make it the night before and wow your guests!

Homemade Tiramisu (adapted from bbc good foods)

Ingredients –

  • 175gram pack sponge fingers
  • 500ml pot double cream 
  • 250gram tub mascarpone 
  • 75ml Baileys Irish cream
  • 300ml strong coffee
  • 4 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder 

Method

  

– Place the cream, mascarpone, Baileys and sugar in a bowl and whip until it has the consistency of whipped cream.

– Use a rectangular deep dish. Dip the sponge fingers in the warm coffee one by one, ensuring that they are covered but not falling apart. 

– Start layering, sponge fingers, then the cream mixture, a little cocoa powder, sponge fingers, then cream again. Until all the ingredients have been used up. The top layer should be cream.

– Finish off by sprinkling more cocoa powder over the finished Tiramisu.

– Place in fridge to set for at least 1hour, preferring over night.

  

Enjoy! In Italian Tiramisu means ‘pick me up’ and this dessert is the best pick me up ever! xxx

2 Comments
  1. thehomemakerslife permalink

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

