Skip to content

Sundays are for Traditional British Roasts πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ my mother’s Roast Lamb πŸ’›

November 8, 2015

I am returning to my roots! I had a wonderfully happy childhood, living in a warm cosy home filled with great food, lots of laughter and love. Unsurprisingly I want the same for my little ones, for them to grow up in a home which they will remember positively for the rest of their lives.

In my opinion it is the little traditions which stick in the minds of little children the most. A lovely memory from my childhood, in the home we grew up in, was having a family Sunday roast every week, be it roast chicken with a crisp brown skin, roast beef with rich juices oozing out or roast lamb with it’s warming satisfying aroma which would fill the whole house.

  
Well I made a decision recently that I would make a traditional roast every Sunday for my children. My parents visited recently and my mother showed me how to make the perfect roast lamb with her famous roast potatoes- crisp & golden brown on the outside, soft & fluffy on the inside. Just scrumptious!

So here it is –

My Mother’s Roast Lamb with Roast Potatoes 

Ingredients

For the lamb –

  • Organic Pastured Whole Leg of Lamb – Daylesford is my favourite!
  • 1 tablespoon of Dijon Mustard
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • Sea salt & Ground black pepper
  • 2-3 cloves of fresh garlic sliced

For the potatoes

  • 1kg Maris Piper potatoes
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

Method

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade.

Lamb

Remove leg of lamb from the fridge 20 minutes before cooking for the meat to reach room temperature. Place on a roasting dish. Make a paste from the mustard & butter by mixing well in a small bowl. Paste the sauce all over top part of the lamb. With a sharp knife make slits in the meat. In these slits push in the slices of garlic. This will infuse the meat during the cooking process. 

  

Once lamb is prepared sprinkle on sea salt & plenty of ground black pepper, drizzle on the olive oil. Place in the oven to cook for 2-3 hours. I always check after 2hours by inserting a sharp knife into the meat. If the liquid released is red then the meat is not ready.

Roast potatoes & parsnips

This is my mother’s way of getting perfectly crispy on the outside and soft light and fluffy on the inside roasties every time. 

Peel and boil the potatoes & parsnips for about 10minutes until tender to touch but not so soft that they are falling apart. Once ready drain and place back in the hot pot they were boiled in. Add in the 2 tablespoons of butter, replace lid and by holding the sides of the pot so the lid is still on shake so the potatoes are all completely coated in the melted butter. Sprinkle on sea salt. Carefully open the oven door and with a long handled spoon gently place the potatoes one at a time into the hot oil surrounding the lamb. This will ensure the potatoes are crisp on the outside with all the gorgeous juices released by the lamb.

  

I normally add in the potatoes about 1 hour after the lamb has been cooking.

  

Once cooked remove from the oven and leave the lamb to rest at room temperature for 20minutes. A well rested piece of meat will retain all its juices and be much tastier. 

Slice the meat, add some potatoes, we always have boiled sprouts & carrots, and top with some delicious gravy! Mmmmmmmmm!

Such a lovely British tradition for the whole family to enjoy! πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

9 Comments
  1. Looks really good, my hunger feels has arrived hehe ^_^

  2. Me. Oh. My. This looks so delicious!! ❀️

  3. Eren permalink

    Very yummy

Leave a Reply

