Skip to content

The Person Controller by David Baddiel 📚 Review & Competition! ðŸŒŸðŸŒŸðŸŒŸðŸŒŸ

November 2, 2015

My 8 year old son loves to read, but I am finding it difficult to come across books which totally and utterly engage his imagination. He is at an age where cartoon characters in books are now babyish and instead he finds more enjoyment in collecting hundreds of football cards; these are cards with pictures of football players on. Personally I would prefer him to read a book. 

To improve his spelling and transport him to other dimensions in his thinking. I have always been a bookworm from a very young age and I want my boys to enjoy reading as much as I do.

  

David Baddiel is someone my son admires, he sang one of my son’s favourite songs ‘Football’s Coming Home’ – a song any England supporter will know. So when we found out that David Baddiel had brought out a second book following on from the much loved ‘The Parent Agency’ my son was very excited to read it! Something I was excited to see.

David Baddiel

Review –

The Person Controller by David Baddiel is his second book for kids. It’s a story about Fred and Ellie, who are 11 year old twins, but they are not identical. They are twins who enjoy video games and are very good at playing them, they are not so good at football or dealing with the school bullies however. That is until a mysterious man gives them a magical video game controller which doesn’t resemble any other game controller they have ever seen before. It is a controller which lets them do things they couldn’t even imagine possible.

My son really enjoyed this book, there is a football element in there which made it a definate winner for him, and a magical controller would be any 8 year olds dream in my opinion. It was a super half term treat and would be an excellent Christmas or birthday gift. 

The world we live in is all about computer games and by mixing this up with all the difficulties kids have to face at school and life today, this is a book which will inspire and engage any pre teen today.

The Person Controller was published this month. Available on Amazon & published by Harper Collins.

Here are some great links to look at –

Super cute video about the book –

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxoJRa7Skrk
 Purchase here on Amazon uk –

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Person-Controller-David-Baddiel/dp/0007554524
 Find out more here –

http://www.harpercollins.co.uk/9780007554553/the-person-controller

Harper Collins competition to win a PS4: 

http://thepersoncontroller.harpercollinschildrensbooks.co.uk/
 

🌟🌟🌟🌟Competition Time 🌟🌟🌟🌟

To win a copy simply email me at –

motherinlondon@hotmail.com 

Send me your name & address. I will pick a winner at random. Only open to those in the UK. Competition closes – November 6th at Midnight. 

Good luck xxx

4 Comments
  1. Asli permalink

    Dear Yasemin, thank you for all the recommendations and inspiration! Definitely need interesting ideas for my 7 year old son’s reading. He loves video games and football, so I ordered it right away! Please do share any good books for children as you come across. Thank yoi, love your blog!

    • Thank you for your kind words Asli ❤️ you made my day. If he loves football he would also enjoy the first book by David Baddiel which I reviewed, it’s called The Parent Agency 😃 boys will be boys! Have a lovely week xxx

  2. Eren permalink

    Great book and blog😄😄😄

Leave a Reply

