Skip to content

Why I switched to enamel coated cast ironπŸ’›

August 26, 2015

  
I would like to share something important with you all. I have switched.

I have thrown out all my black bottomed non stick teflon saucepans and pots in exchange for enamel coated cast iron. Strong, long lasting, non stick, non scratch, beautiful porcelain enamel coated cast iron.

It has become a bit of a fanatical addiction for me now. I’ve gone totally cast iron crazy!

It all started when I was cooking the boys their favourite scrambled eggs for breakfast one morning. After having cooked up the eggs I was washing the pan when I noticed how badly scratched and scraped the black non stick bottom had become. But I only ever used wooden non stick utensils! Despite this there were little scratches everywhere. How awful I thought and googled the dangers of this.

To be honest I couldn’t find a definite answer, some experts believe it can be so awful as to cause cancer, some say it’s perfectly safe to use. I won’t go into the technicalities but I did decide there and then to stop using teflon style non stick pots and pans.

I would rather be safe than sorry, especially when it comes to feeding my family. I try to feed them the healthiest foods available but I also believe how and what the food is cooked is extremely important.

  

Why did I choose enamel coated cast iron? Firstly tradition, my late grandmother always cooked using enamel coated cast iron to cook her many dishes. The other reasons are it doesn’t scratch, it is super easy to clean and cooks food perfectly. The last and very important reason is they look fabulous on the stove! I do love beautiful things!

In my opinion the traditional and iconic French brand Le Creuset produce the best enamel coated cast iron cookware in the world. They are extremely well made, can last forever and cook food perfectly because of their ability to retain and spread heat evenly.

I love cooking, I take extreme pride in my kitchen, cooking with a beautifully elegant Le Creuset casserole dish gives me so much happiness and joy.

They are not cheap but why buy cheaper versions which will scratch and could be unhealthy, when you could buy a Le Creuset that will give you great food and look amazing to! It’s a win-win situation for sure β€οΈπŸ˜ƒ

  
Check out the beautiful range here, let me know your favourite colour, mine is Volcanic πŸ˜ƒ

http://www.lecreuset.co.uk

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

