Skip to content

My Paris Dream πŸ‡«πŸ‡· by Kate Betts – a book review πŸ“š

August 24, 2015

It is one of my dreams, at the very top of my bucket list if you like, to live in Paris. I don’t mean move there forever, as I love London, Antalya and Istanbul far too much to do that, but I would just love to rent a traditionally Parisian apartment for a while and just immerse myself in all things Paris.

  

You can probably imagine my excitement when I saw this book on my amazon recommendations list. ‘My Paris Dream’ – the title said it all, and I just had to find out more. What was more intriguing was that the author – Kate Betts – was a fashion journalist; a former Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar editor, so seeing Paris through the eyes of someone who was interested in fashion, as I am, was something I definately wanted to do.

My Paris Dream is a memoir about how Kate, an American, left her homeland and travelled to Paris in the 1980’s in the hope of becoming a glamorous foreign correspondent. Life was not as glamorous as she imagined, renting a room in the apartment of a young French family. She had to experience both the ups and downs this magical city of many lights had to offer. After fighting the many urges to get up and just return home, Kate manages to master French slang, style and savoir faire. I won’t give too much of the story away but lets just say Kate is ambitious and extremely lucky to end up working alongside the likes of Yves Saint Laurent, Karl Lagerfeld and in those days the younger fashion icons like Helmut Lang, John Galliano.

This is the ideal book for anyone who dreams of Paris and who loves to read the likes of Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar. Who wants to find out what life was like in the fashion capital of the world in the 1980’s.

Kate definitely fulfilled her Paris dream, and I hope to fulfil mine once my boys are grown up and Im fancy free. Watch this space my lovelies. For the time being Paris, je t’aime!

Find out more about Kate here –

http://katebetts.com

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

