Skip to content

The Dolmabahce Palace – a glorious guilded Palace on the shores of The Bosphorous 💙

August 14, 2015

I am writing to you from one of my favourite cities in the whole world! Istanbul – where East meets West, where many cultures and beliefs live together within the boarders of this busy city which never sleeps and holds so much history.

  

Today I want to tell you a little about, what is in my opinion, one of the most beautiful Palaces in the world – The Dolmabahce Palace. A majestic and magnificent piece of history sitting on the shores of the Bosphorous in Istanbul. A baroque Palace filled with the most exquisite antiques, crystals, statues, pieces of art and materials money can buy.

   
   

Dolmabahçe Palace was ordered by the Ottoman Empire’s 31st Sultan, Abdülmecid I, and built between the years 1843 and 1856. Previously, the Sultan and his family had lived at the Topkapı Palace, which I have written about in a previous post. As the medieval Topkapı was lacking in contemporary style, luxury, and comfort, as compared to the palaces of the European monarchs, Abdülmecid decided to build a new modern palace near the area of Besiktas.

Dolmabahçe Palace was home to six Sultans from 1856. The founder and first President of the Republic of Turkey, Mustafa Kemal Ataturk used the palace as a presidential residence during the summers and enacted some of his most important works here. Atatürk spent the last days of his medical treatment in this palace, where he died on November 10, 1938.

I cannot even tell you how many times I have visited this palace. In my teens I visited it so many times with my late grandfather he even asked me why I don’t consider woking there. I actually thought of being a tour guide there once.

I have visited so many palaces, castles and other royal residences around the world, but what makes this one so special for me is its beauty and just how liveable and real it is. I could move in tomorrow! 

A definate ‘must see’ for those of you visiting this city filled with history and beauty.

Find out more here –

http://www.millisaraylar.gov.tr/portalmain-en/Palaces.aspx?SarayId=16

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

