Skip to content

‘Tout Sweet’ by Karen Wheeler πŸ“š an unforgettable French adventure πŸ‡«πŸ‡·

August 10, 2015

I am sure you all know by now how I love all things French – foods, movies, designers and especially books set in France. 

A dream book for me is one which can take me away to the beautiful French countryside where the small villages are filled with large farm houses with coloured wooden shutters and everyone gathers in the local Patisserie to feast on freshly baked croissants.

It has always made me wonder how it would feel to leave behind all traces of what is familiar, to move to a totally new country where everything needs to be explored, everything is new and everyday is a new adventure. This book does just that.

  

‘Tout Sweet’ is a terrific gem of a read. Karen Wheeler is also a blogger like me and this book is the first book in the series of how she did just that, left her life in London to live in rural France.

In her mid-thirties Karen had it all: a career as a fashion editor, a handsome boyfriend, a fab flat in west London and an array of gorgeous shoes. But when her boyfriend leaves, she wonders if there is more to life than high fashion. So, she hangs up her Manolos & waves goodbye to the city, deciding to go it alone in a run-down house in rural Poitou-Charentes, western France. 

This is more of a biography than a fictional novel, because Karen is the heroine of the story, and the story is about her own life.  The characters she meets are so well described you feel like you are watching a documentary rather than reading a book. Reading Karen’s books are like sitting down with a long lost friend infront of a roaring log fire with a big mug of hot cocoa, just catching up.

A story filled with laughter, love, loss and life in general with all it’s ups and downs. I literally could not put it down and when it finished I was so happy to find out there was a second and third book in which we find out more about Karen and her life in France.

The second in the series is –

‘Tout Allure’

  

The third in the series is –

‘Tout Soul’

  

I have to admit I finished the second & third books in one sitting! I am not known for my patience and just had to find out what happened next.

And the best news ever is….there is another book coming very soon!!!! Yay! All I know is it’s called ‘Sweet Encore’! I cannot wait! Thank you Karen ❀️

Have a look at Karen’s lovely blog which actually inspired me to start my own! 

http://www.toutsweet.net

From → Book club, Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

