Skip to content

Recipes for Melissa – a book review 📚

July 27, 2015

I have two boys as you all know, but if I had had a daughter I would have named her Melissa. I absolutely love it when girls are named after flowers, maybe because my name is a flower too, but the name ‘Melissa’ has always been my favourite, it was also my late grandmother’s favourite.

So when I came across a book with my favourite name on the cover, along with the word ‘recipes’ this was definitely a book I wanted to read!

  
The Story-

This is a moving story about Melissa and her mother Eleanor. Melissa is the adored daughter of Eleanor, born when her mother was twenty-five years old, but sadly when Melissa was eight years old her mother died of breast cancer and Melissa and her father were left grieving, shocked by her sudden and untimely death. 

Melissa celebrates her own twenty-fifth birthday many years after the death of her mother Eleanor and receives a suprise special gift – a journal which has been secretly compiled by her mother for Melissa, before her death. 

The journal is hand written by Eleanor filled with favourite recipes and with memories, advice and anecdotes. But also within the journal she learned secrets her mother had never told anyone, secrets that will change Melissa forever.

Verdict-

I cannot give too much more away as I don’t want to ruin the moment for readers, but it is definitely a story that will touch your heart. Especially for those of us with children, for those of us who have experienced loss. I found Teresa Driscoll’s writing to be very easy to read, the words flowed perfectly and at points I felt like I was transported away amd was watching a movie. 

Not only do you get to read an amazing story, you also get some great recipes which I cannot wait to try for myself! 

For those of you who like books by Jojo Moyes and Jodi Picoult you will enjoy this story and author immensely.

Find out more about Teresa here –

http://www.teresadriscoll.com

And here-

http://www.bookouture.com

From → Book club, Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

