Skip to content

Summer at the Lake by Erica James – a book review 📚

July 20, 2015

  
I am off on my holidays very soon so I am getting into the summer spirit. In my opinion there is no better way to enjoy the holidays than with a great book, a book that can transport you away to far away places.

On Mondays I like to share with you a review of a new book I have read, but on this Monday I wanted to share with you one of my favourite summery books. Sometimes you come across a book which you want to read again and again, and these come very few and far between.

The book I am reviewing today is one of those memorable books. Set in one of my favourite places in the whole world, the beautiful area of Lake Como, Italy. I will be totally honest, I have yet to visit Lake Como but I feel like I already know it from the movies and the books set in the amazing area. I have always found lakes to be extremely romantic. They have a mystifying, calming, enticing quality the sea has never had in my opinion. And Lake Como in particular has always held a special place in my heart for this reason. The beautiful dark blue lake surrounded by the most amazing Palatzios. No wonder George Clooney has a home there!

 

Picture taken from http://www.discovercomo.com


 
So whenever I come across a movie or a book set in the Lake Como region I will watch it or read it straight away. A Month by the Lake is one of my favourite movies set on Lake Como staring the amazing Vanessa Redgrave, a romantic movie I can watch over and over again.  And this book – Summer at the Lake by Erica James – a must for anyone who is looking for a summer read to transport them to the romantic waters of Lake Como for a truly magical tale.

I have always enjoyed books by Erica James, her stories are so real, so from the heart and her novels are a definitely way ahead of chick lit novels, they have a lot of depth and meaning. She is definitely one of my favourite authors.

Summer by the Lake is a story about three people whose lives intercept and bring them to the beautiful Lake in Italy. Floriana, Adam and Esme. These three characters meet by chance and they all end up staying at a beautiful old Palatzio on the side on Lake Como. Esme is an elderly lady with lots of memories, Floriana much younger with a dilemma having just received an invitation to a wedding at Lake Como. It is Esme and heroic Adam who give Floriana the courage to attend. 

This is a story about love, loneliness and always expecting the unexpected in life. A story full of wonderful surprises! 

I cannot recommend this book enough! 

Have a wonderful Summer everyone! xxx

Find out more about Erica James –

http://ericajames.co.uk/#

From → Book club, Books, Travel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

