Skip to content

Erbology Organic Sea Buckthorn Spread – You just have to try this! 💛

July 7, 2015

I am always on the look out for the latest in healthy foods. I have always tried to eat the healthiest foods available, but since having kids I have become even more aware of what I eat because in turn I can feed my kids the same healthy meals.

One of my biggest pastimes is to just wonder around local markets, supermarkets and grocery stores and just see what they have on offer. When I visit a different country I enjoy trying local delicacies, figuring out how I can incorporate them into my recipes, or create totally new recipes. It is not only creative it is just so much fun!

So you can image my excitement when I came across ‘Sea Buckthorn Spread.’ I must admit I had never ever heard of it so definitely needed to find out more.

  

What is Sea Buckthorn?

First lets start with the main ingredient. Sea Buckthorn is a thorny plant with orange berries typically found in Eastern Europe and Asia, where it has been used for centuries in traditional medicine. 

  

This wonder plant is rich in unsaturated fatty acids –

– Omega 3, 6 & 9

– Rare Omega 7

– Vitamins C, A & E

– Beta-carotene

– Amino acids

– Dietary minerals

– Contains 12 times more vitamin C than oranges

Sea Buckthorn is traditionally known for its anti-inflammatory properties. As a strong antioxidant, it is used to boost immunity, heart and brain function, support healthy mucous membranes and regenerate skin.

Wow! Sea Buckthorn is so healthy, but is it yummy? Erbology offer a whole range of goodies using Sea Buckthorn – Jams and juices incorporating Sea Buckthorn with apple, pear and honey.

Erbology Sea Buckthorn Spread with Pear –

I definitely have a new favourite jam. I love jams, but find some store bought jams extremely sweet, so sweet in fact that the taste of the fruit is lost in the sweetness. This jam is fresh, in a homemade jam way. It has a smooth thick paste like consistency and is sweet in a mildly fruity way. Ingredients are pure and simple – Organic Sea Buckthorn, Organic Pears, Fruit sugar. The jam is also suitable for diabetics.

I do love jams on toast and crisp breads, but as Summer is here and I am trying to cut down on carbohydrates, my favourite way is to add a spoonful of jam or honey to my homemade yogurt to suppress my sweet tooth in the healthiest way possible. I added Sea Buckthorn jam to my yogurt this morning – not only was it super yummy, it was super healthy too!

Try my easy peasy healthy breakfast recipe for yourself –

  
Ingredients – (enough for one)

–  2 tablespoons of homemade yogurt (recipe on my blog)

– 1 teaspoon of Erbology Sea Buckthorn Jam

– 1 teaspoon of mixed seeds

– 1 chopped up apple or pear

Method –

Simply mix all the ingredients in a bowl and enjoy!

Find out more about all the healthy goodies at Erbology on the link below. Launched in 2013 in London by two siblings – Irina and Victor, Erbology’s mission is just right –

To create a positive impact on our body, mind and the world we live in. This is why we carefully select ingredients with outstanding remedial and regenerating qualities and keep our products free from chemicals.”

A company after my own heart! Enjoy xxx

http://www.erbology.co.uk

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

