Skip to content

Kids & the importance of music 🎶

June 28, 2015

My elder son has piano lessons every week, every Saturday morning for thirty minutes. We are lucky enough to live very close to a very talented piano teacher who is great with kids.

  
I am sitting in his piano teacher’s home now as I write this, as my son is guided by his teacher tickling the ivories. The sound of the piano is so relaxing, calming and otherworldly.

I completely believe the importance of music in a childs life needs to be underlined. Children go to school, they learn, they play, they learn, but music explores other parts of the brain which English, Maths, Sports just cannot.

I read in Time magazine how there was little doubt that a musical instrument is great for developing brains. The article continued to explain how, “Science has shown that when children learn to play music, their brains begin to hear and process sounds that they couldn’t otherwise hear. This helps them develop “neurophysiological distinction” between certain sounds that can aid in literacy, which can translate into improved academic results for kids.”

We started my son with piano lessons at age 6. It was just after his 6th birthday. I was not sure if he would like it so we didn’t buy a piano or keyboard straight away. His teacher has an amazing technique where he starts his students with singing the notes to get a feel for the music, and then moves on to the piano.

We have been having lessons for almost one year and a half now, we have since purchased a large keyboard for home practice. And my son plays the piano! Not expertly but some lovely tunes.

I always wished I could play an instrument, my parents took me to lessons but I do have a stubborn streak so it didn’t work out. I am so glad my son enjoys playing an instrument and I hope he continues this enjoyment. 

Music is an escape and an enjoyment, from day to day life, from all the things life will throw at them and that they will have to juggle. 

Read more about the impotance of music here, a very good article-

http://time.com/3634995/study-kids-engaged-music-class-for-benefits-northwestern/

10 Comments
  1. I started playing the piano when I was 8-ish and I can say it has made me who I am today. I wouldn’t imagine my life without music. I recently watched a little animation that said something like this: “Playing music is the brain’s equivalent of a full-body workout.”

    You can check it out here, your son might enjoy it too 🙂
    http://blog.theliteracysite.com/this-is-your-brain-on-music/#YJG5xZo4JzMyyh3v.01

    • How lovely to hear! I do very much hope my son continues to play throughout his life, as you have. Such an amazing talent to have. Thanks for the link I will show my son now xxx

  2. Music saved my life as a child. I think it still does now too! ❤️🎼

    • Wow! Music is so amazing! Do you play an instrument? xxx

      • I wish I did! I love to write songs and poetry.
        Music soothes me. All kinds of music.
        My 14 year old plays the guitar. He always listens to classical music before a big test because it makes him calm and relaxed. ❤️

      • Wow the guitar! I’d love my younger son to start guitar lessons, what age did your son start lessons? xxx

      • He started a year ago. He has been playing around with the ukulele. Very sweet

      • Very sweet, I hope my boys have music in their lives in one way or another 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

