Skip to content

Fashion is everywhere! Learn to be chic like Coco Chanel 

June 7, 2015

I have been a fan of Chanel for many many years. Long before I had children and to this day I absolutely adore fashion and beauty . I cannot walk past a store selling magazines without checking out what latest trends Vogue is showing on the pages of its amazing publication.

The two names which hold a special place in my heart are Chanel and Louis Vuitton.

 

Coco Chanel

 
I adore Chanel because for me Mademoiselle Chanel reinvented fashion and allowed women to dress with comfort and style. As she once said, 

“Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.”

How right, how wise she was. Fashion is never just about the clothes. Its about everything around us, trends, statements, feelings.

For those of you who want to learn about this iconic French woman who created the Chanel brand, here are a few facts-

– Coco Chanel was a pioneer in the world of fashion. She recreated what women were expected to wear by drawing influence from the men’s wardrobe. The trouser suit, a fitted jacket became staples of the female wardrobe under Chanel’s guidance.

– The Little Black Dress was created and make famous by Coco Chanel. 

– Coco Chanel is the only designer to have been listed in Time Magazine’s 100 most influential people of the twentieth century.

Who can afford Chanel I hear you ask, you are right, loving these ultra glamorous brands come with a very hefty price tag. But my motto is this, why spend money on lots of cheap things, when you can save up and buy one expensive item and use it, wear it forever, and even pass it down to your kids or grandkids. For me it is always quality over quantity, I buy these brands because quality is what they offer.

To this very day I use bags, scarves, belts which have been handed down to me by my mother, very expensive accessories and clothes which are just like new because the materials used to make them, the craftsmanship to manufacture them has been only the best! 

If you want to find out a little more about this icon I recommend you watch ‘Coco Before Chanel’ starring Audrey Tautou, a very good movie. Or read ‘Coco Chanel- The Legend and The Life’ by Justine Picardie. A life well worth reading about.

http://www.chanel.com/en_GB/

From → Fashion, Travel

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

