Skip to content

A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother 📚  A Book Review!

May 18, 2015

  

 Oh my goodness! I just cannot stop laughing! I finished this book a few days ago but I am still laughing thinking about it.

As you can tell from the title this book is about the trials and tribulations of a ‘playground mother.’ As I myself am a ‘playground mother’ too the goings on in the story were very close to real life for me.

Rachel is the main character, escaping city life for the country as a means of escaping her local Playground Mafia, only to find that the locals of the countryside Playgrounds are not much different. 

Like Rachel I also escaped city life for a more quiet country life, so I totally related to Rachael in more ways than one. The characters are super funny from Rupert and Penelope who made me laugh non stop, to Mrs High School Musical, The International Sex God and The Frisky Pensioner! I think their names speak for themselves.

If you are a mother who has done more school runs than you care to remember, if the your school playground is full of interesting characters, you will love this book!

Anyone who has read Sophie King and Sophie Kinsella, for those of you who want an escape from day to day life and to know that you are definitely not alone, this is the book for you!

I do hope the sequel is out very soon, I cannot wait to read more by Christie Barlow! 

Happy reading, and in the case of this book, happy laughing out loud too! xxx


From → Book club, Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

