Skip to content

Part 2 – Places I saw in Paris! ❤️🇫🇷

May 9, 2015

With only 48hours in one of the most romantic cities in the world, there is only so much you can fit it.

Prior to my much anticipated trip I got some great tips of places to see from a very good Parisien friend of mine. Museums to visit, shops to see, places to eat. I plan to fit these into my next visit.

When you arrive in Paris you are in so much awe of the beauty around you, wandering around the cobbled streets, amongst the balconied apartments and buildings intricately detailed with statues and lace like facades, that you feel like you are looking at pieces of artwork just by wandering the streets.

  
My husband and I had both visited Paris before, my husband has even lived and studied in Paris, so we were already lucky enough to have seen inside a lot of the wonderful museums. So we decided to not visit museums but instead enjoy Paris on foot and by boat.

  
Our first trip was on Le Seine. We caught the boat from near the Notre Dame de Paris and took a leisurely hour long trip along the river watching the beauty of the left and right banks. After the boat trip we crossed the river and walked through the majestic Louvre which houses the infamous Mona Lisa and past the ornately amazing Opera House to find a nice cafe to rest and watch the Parisene world go by.

The next day we wanted to see more of the left bank. We walked across a bridge near the Louvre and walked all the way along the left bank past the beautiful balconied apartment blocks which I love, all the way past the Musée d’Orsay and to the Eiffel Tower.

   

 

To be honest the Eiffel Tower is beautiful but extremely touristic, so one visit is more than enough. After escaping the hustle and bustle of the iconic French monument, we decided to ride the wonderful French metro system. 

We ride the tube all the time in London, with its coloured lines it does not daunt us. The French metro system is much the same, lots of colourful lines on the map but do not be put off as it is super easy to use and so much quicker than getting a taxi. We got on just across from the Eiffel Tower and got off just by the amazing Jardin des Tuileries. 

 

The metro

 

My husband wanted to take a little cafe break, so I decided to visit the actual apartment of iconic French designer Coco Chanel, one of my all time favourite fashion icons. All I knew was the name of the road – 31 Rue Cambon- her apartment was here, I had read about it in magazines. I found it and stood on the pavement outside to just imagine the chic Mademoiselle Chanel walking in with her legendary grace and elegance. Coco Chanel is one of my style icons and I will write more about her in other posts.

I walked past the famous store Colette, but sadly could not go in as many stores are closed on Sundays, and I quickly visited the beautiful Le Meurice hotel known for it’s celebrity guests and amazing interiors.

 

Chanel

 

Paris is a beautiful city, there are so many bits of it I have yet to see, but you just wait, I will be back! Au revoir for now! xxx

2 Comments
  1. Great post! One of the World centres. Stunning City…

Leave a comment