Skip to content

🎬  Woman in Gold – a glittering masterpiece not to be missed!

April 21, 2015

  

My husband and I were lucky to go to the cinema the other evening on a date night. I was especially excited because I have been wanting to see this movie ever since I heard about it. 

I first read about ‘Woman in Gold’ in the airline magazine en route to Antalya. It was a story which touched me emotionally and I knew I had to see the movie based on this true story. 

 The movie is based around the famous painting ‘Woman in Gold’ or as it is now known ‘Adele Bloch-Bauer I’ painted by renowned Austrian artist Gustav Klimt in 1907. The woman in the painting is Adele Bloch-Bauer, a wealthy woman in Viennese society at the beginning of the twentieth century, and aunt to the lead character Maria Altmann played by Helen Mirren.

  

Maria Altmann, an elderly Jewish refugee, living in Los Angeles, and her determined lawyer Randol Shoenberg fought the Austrian Government for almost ten years to get back the famous painting of her aunt, Adele Bloch-Bauer, which was confiscated from her relatives by the Nazis in Vienna just prior to World War II.

This is by far one of the best films I have seen this year! It is also the best movie related to the atrocities of World War II that I have seen since Schindlers List.

It lasted two hours and over this time it made me laugh, made me cry tears of sorrow and tears of joy. Oscar winning British actress Helen Mirren plays the part of Maria Altmann extremely well, the emotion portrayed is only one that an actress of her caliber could achieve. Her lawyer, Randol Shoenberg is played by Ryan Reynolds, who plays his part with all the strength and compassion a lawyer fighting to reclaim back what is rightfully his client’s should have. I think both Mirren and Reynolds deserve an Oscar for their parts.

So if there is one movie you must see this week, this is the one! 

Enjoy! xxxxx

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

