Skip to content

Book review – ‘Dangled Carat’ by Hilary Grossman 📚

April 19, 2015

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I love to read. Give me a good book and I will sit in my corner enjoying the other world and characters the words on the page transport me too!

  

‘Dangled Carat’ is a book which drew me in from the word go! In fact the cover was enough to tell me that this book would be a keeper – I am in absolute adoration of diamonds and anything that sparkles for that matter! 

This is classed as a chick lit novel, it is that but with more depth, what also makes it special is that it’s a memoir about what actually happened in the author’s life. I see Hilary Grossman as a new Sophie Kinsella. An author who creates a light, easy to read novel, but with a touch of depth to make you relate to the story in question.

The story is set in modern day USA, the main character is Hilary (yes same name as the author). Hilary is a sweet natured, patient young lady looking for a proposal of marriage from her long time boyfriend Marc. The story begins on a romantic New Years Eve which Hilary and Marc are spending with their good friends. Their friends set them up, and tell everyone Marc has proposed to Hilary, much to Marc’s horror. Anyone else would have left Marc there and then, but Hilary has the patience of a saint.

For anyone who has dated a commitment phobic person, or is one themselves, you have to read this book. It will make you laugh at times, and sad at times. I will not tell you the ending but if you want to get to know a little more about who Hilary Grossman is and if she ever gets to marry her Marc and wear that big diamond ring, read this book. I look forward to the next book with eagerness and anticipation!

Happy reading xxx

From → Book club, Books

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

