Skip to content

Quintessentially Quinoa ❤️

March 26, 2015

   

 

I read in the news just yesterday how a Harvard study found whole grains and cereal fibres reduced risk of cancer, heart disease and diabetes and other chronic diseases.

I adore grains – bulgur, buckwheat and quinoa are my favourites! Not only for their amazing health benefits but also for their tastes and textures.

I have cooked with bulgur and buckwheat in several recipes before but I am trying to incorporate quinoa into my family’s diet more and more these days. Its small and round, and it’s delicate nutty flavour can be used in so many dishes both sweet and savoury. 

 I’ve seen lots of pictures posted by foodies like myself on Instragram showing quinoa used instead of oats in a morning glory bowl of goodness. So I investigated and found a super easy recipe on Martha Stewart’s website which I tried. Not only was it easy to prepare the night before, it had a much more delicate flavour and was lighter than the oatmeal version. 

 Ingredients- 

-1 cup of quinoa (I use organic) 

-2 cups of milk (I prefer unsweetened Almond milk – but you could use any you prefer)

– Any healthy toppings you like 

– Seeds (see my super seed mix recipe), strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, chopped mangoes, bananas, acai berries, nuts. The list is endless. 

 Method- 

 Do these bits the night before – 

 – Wash the quinoa in water and drain. Place the 1 measure of quinoa and 2 measures of milk in a saucepan. Place on a medium heat, with the lid on, stir occasionally and cook until all the liquid has gone and the quinoa grains are soft.

 

– Mix well and place in a sealable bowl. Refrigerate once cool.

Do these bits in the morning – 

– Spoon into a bowl however much of the cooked quinoa you fancy. Pour on a little more milk. Top with the fruits, nuts, seeds of your choice. Drizzle with honey or maple syrup. Sprinke with a little cinnamon. 

Yummy!

Got to love breakfast! Enjoy! xxxx

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

