Skip to content

Some little shortcuts to make cooking faster and more fun!

March 25, 2015

  

I love to cook! It is my therapy, my way to recharge and relax. I think it is an art.

 I take after my mother, and grandmother, who have always been cooks! I enjoy experimenting with new ingredients and recipes. However I am not too keen on the prep work involved in the kitchen. I don’t mind dicing the odd onion or peeling potatoes, but if I can find a gadget or way to speed the prep process up I will try it, as it means more time to create!

So Ive put together a list of my favourite ‘shortcuts’ in cooking! –

 Garlic Puree- 

I use a lot of garlic in my cooking. In pasta sauces, soups and even salad dressings. It gives food that indisputable kick of flavour and its super healthy too. Garlic cloves can be very tricky and smelly to peel, so if you want to save time try this easy purée by Gia. Just squeeze a little into yoyr dishes for that yummy flavour!

  

Chopped Shallots-

I prefer using shallots in cooking rather than onions. They seem so much sweeter and more delicate in cooking than their bigger counterparts. Again like onions they can be a real challenge to peel. So I get these ready prepared chopped shallots. Frozen so you can keep them at hand for whenever you need them. My favourite are from the Waitrose ‘Cooks Ingredients’ range.

  

Frozen fruits-

A good friend of my loves these, and I think they are a super idea too! Frozen berries are great for those of us who love to make fresh juices and smoothies. Fresh fruits are not only expensive but can go soft after a few days. Save fresh fruits for eating and keep a bag of frozen strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, melon and bananas in the freezer and throw a handful into your homemade juices and shakes anytime. Waitrose even has a convenient ‘Frozen Berry Smoothie mix’. No more excuses for getting ready made, sugar filled juices and smoothies!

  

Make cooking fun and easy! xxx

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

