Skip to content

Homemade Cereal Bars ❤️

March 16, 2015



Happy Monday everyone! So another start to the week, vegetable box has arrived, lots of yummy dishes planned. I got so excited about making my own homemade cereal bars today, the soup of the week will be made tomorrow.

After reading about how much sugar is found in store bought cereal bars, I had to find an easy and healthy recipe the kids would enjoy. Just to give you an idea of how much sugar goes into the store bought bars, here are the facts (taken from yesterday’s Independent) –

– Kelloggs Cocopops Snack bar – 42% sugar

– Eat Naturals Fruit & Nut bar – 40% sugar

– Quaker Oat So Simple Golden Syrup Morning Bars – 15% sugar

I wasn’t too suprised about the Cocopops bar, but Eat Naturals is a brand I do, or did, buy. But will not be buying anymore. So I decided to make my own, that way I know exactly whats going in them and what my kids are eating.

Looking at various recipes I decided to start with something that I know my kids would enjoy mixed in with the good stuff. Deliciously Ella had a recipe which used nuts and dates but I know that would be just too natural for a first time homemade cereal bar. That will be tried next time.

My boys love Cheerios.  This recipe is from Martha Stewart and I have changed it a little by adding half the stated amount of sugar and instead adding a handful of dark chocolate chips and more honey. Its super quick and easy. I know Cheerios contain sugar too but by making the mixture that binds the bar together a bit healthier, its a step in the right direction.

  • Ingredients- (adapted from Martha Stewart)
  • – 4 tablespoons unsalted butter 
  • – 1 tablespoon light brown sugar 
  • – 1/2 cup honey 
  • – 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt 
  • – 1 teaspoon cinnamon 
  • – 3 cups Cheerios 
  • – 1 cup roasted unsalted almonds, roughly chopped 
  • – Handful of dark chocolate chips

Method- Grease a rectangular baking pan. Combine butter, sugar, honey, salt, and cinnamon in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Continue to boil for 1 to 2 minutes, then immediately remove from heat. Stir in cereal, almonds and chocolate chips. Mix well until cereal is coated. Pour into greased pan, pressing down with a rubber spatula. Let cool completely (about 30 minutes) Then cut into squares.

Enjoy! xxxxx










Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

